Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus Joins Sportsmen’s Community for Annual Competition

On May 16, twenty-six bipartisan Members of the Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus (CSC) joined members of the sportsmen’s community and representatives from allied industries for a trap, skeet, and sporting clays competition outside Washington, DC.

The Republicans, led by CSC Co-Chair Congressman Jeff Duncan (SC), finished with an overall score of 246, and the Democrats, led by CSC Vice-Chair Congressman Marc Veasey (TX), tallied up a total score of 233.

“This annual event provides one of the few opportunities for both Republicans and Democrats to gather together and enjoy a nonpartisan friendly competition,” said Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation (CSF) President Jeff Crane.

Special guests of the event included Canadian Ambassador David MacNaughton, outdoor television celebrity Julie McQueen, Daniel Lee Martin, former Washington Redskin Dave Butz, and current Redskin players Houston Bates and Zach Vigil.

Prior to the Congressional Shoot-Out, sportsmen’s community and allied industry representatives gathered for a warm-up day at the annual Industry Challenge on May 15.

Top Congressional Shoot-Out Scores

Congressional Sportsmen's Caucus Individual Category

  • "Top Gun" Member of Congress: Congressman Richard Hudson (NC)
  • "Top Gun" Democrat: Congressman Tim Walz (MN)
  • "Top Gun" Republican: Congressman Rob Wittman (VA)
  • Top Skeet: Congressman Collin Peterson (MN)
  • Top Trap: Congressman Don Young (AK)
  • Top Sporting Clays: Congressman Ted Budd (NC)

Experienced Category

  • "Top Gun": Forrest Wilson (Vista Outdoor)
  • "Top Gun" Female: Anne Mauro (Blaser USA)
  • Top Skeet: Bill Mackleit (Vista Outdoor)
  • Top Trap: Tom DeBolt (Benelli USA)
  • Top Sporting Clays: Drew Goodlin (Vista Outdoor)

Beginners Category

  • "Top Gun": Ansley Erdel (BP America) and Danielle Sikes (National Pork Producers Council)

Industry Challenge Winners

Team Category

  • First Place team: Drew Goodlin, Bill Mackleit, Forrest Wilson, Fred Ferguson (Vista Outdoor)
  • Second Place team: Robert Crow (White Flyer), Phil Hoon (CSF), Adam Rigga (Brasserie Beck),
  • Third Place team: Knox Williams (American Suppressor Association), Anne Mauro (Blaser USA), Chris Gullott (Bridgestone Americas), Justin Padgett (SilencerCo)

Experienced Category

  • "Top Gun": Forrest Wilson (Vista Outdoor)
  • Top Skeet: Bart James (Air Conditioning Contractors of America)
  • Top Trap: Drew Goodlin (Vista Outdoor)
  • Top Sporting Clays: Robert Crow (White Flyer)

Title Sponsors included: BP America, Inc.; General Motors; Hess Corporation; Hornady Manufacturing Co.; ITC Holdings Corporation; National Rifle Association; SilencerCo, LLC; and Vista Outdoor Inc. Host Sponsors included: Bass Pro Shops; Cabela’s Outdoor Fund; National Shooting Sports Foundation; The Nature Conservancy; and Winchester Ammunition.

States Involved

Share this page

Your opinion counts

Which of the following options represents the biggest obstacle to your participation in more fishing activities?

Vote Here
Get Involved

We work hard to educate elected officials about issues important to you, but we can't do it alone. Find out how you can get involved and support CSF.

Read More